Student Focus | Heidi Secker | Level 5

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My Menswear Lookbook for Casely-Hayford AW17

My concept for our Menswear module derived from the Vogue archive, and in particular, the focus on the 70’s era. 70’s lifestyle was my starting point, researching the home interiors, clothing choices, travel and the idols in music. All these factors that influenced the trends and fashion focuses including Johnny Cash’s pointed collars and the 70’s car designs are what then encouraged my initial sketches. Alongside the brand awareness of Casely – Hayford who are known for their tailored techniques in combination with bright colours and inventive print placement within their collections.

My design process started with understanding the persona of my chosen brand and the reflection of 70’s posture into croquis form. From quick sketching in pen then into pencil, determining the key items in menswear developing from my research I collected. I then introduced colour themes that portray the mix of the chosen WGSN theme ‘InFusion’ and 70’s focuses into my drawings with mix media of Promarkers and water colour. Particular shapes from my visual research then encouraged experimentation with print, transferring knit samples into Illustrator and playing with complimenting colours. Manipulating print sketches into screen printing samples on both jersey and shirting fabric. Once the final designs and key items were determined, the fabric choices were key in moving into manufacturing my menswear outfits.

My two final outfits which created consisted of a pair of sage green trousers, with a beige 70’s car printed T-shirt under a Johnny Cash infused mixed wool fabric jacket. Next to a screen printed panel beige shirt styled with topstitched brown trousers. Throughout this module I have developed a successful approach to the designing process with the use of key research focuses and optimizing colours that reflect this. In terms of manufacturing, I have enhanced a patient approach in problem solving fabric choices and key seam/topstitching detailing to create outfits that I feel portray my theme and 70’s lifestyle.

For Level 6 I hope to feel prepared in designing a collection that represents my ideas and a developed manufacturing approach that also portrays who I am as a designer and how much I have learnt throughout the course.

By Heidi Secker

BA Fashion Design Student | Level 5

Leave a Reply

